Home Biog Shows Uncle Vanya Recordings Contact

Neal Thornton

Photo by Bill Knight

Act2 demo

Uncle Vanya - a chamber opera in 4 acts

Based on Chekhov’s play in English in a faithful translation of the original plays text.


Sonya Serebyakov - high mezzo

Vanya, her Uncle - Baritone

Professor Serebryakov, her father - Bass  (buffo )

Yelena his  new wife, Soprano - light lyric

Doctor Astrov, Baritone

Marina, Sonya’s nanny - Mezzo

The piece is about 2 hrs and 20 min long with one interval

The piece is scored for a classical orchestra, strings, double wind, horns, tpts and limited percussion

A Russian language version is in the pipeline too.

Uncle Vanya has grown out of the one act setting Sonya’s Story written in 2010 but is a more traditional operatic piece using conventional orchestra.

The demo version here shows the style of the piece and is the entirety of the second act.

It is realised by a computer orchestra and I’m grateful to the marvellous singers for performing the roles so willingly for me.

Any comments on the above and enquiries welcomed using the form on the contacts page